Joe Sharkey

Joe Sharkey
Contributor

Joe Sharkey has written the weekly business travel column in The New York Times for 12 years. He's the author of six books, none on travel. He and his wife, Nancy, a professor at the University of Arizona, live with their two parrots near Saguaro National Park in Tucson, where their favorite mode of transportation—short haul, at least—is a horse. A Vietnam veteran, Sharkey has been on virtually every kind of fixed-wing aircraft, including both final Concorde flights and a memorable sortie in 1967 in Pensacola with the Navy's Blue Angels. As a battered road warrior, he says the very first thing he would do if he acquired an extremely large sum of money is order a G650.

 

Quote/Unquote

““[Bill Gates] has been historically one of my best supporters…One of my favorite e-mails he ever sent me…I proposed this crazy project. And he sent back this two-line response: ‘This has got to be the craziest thing you’ve ever suggested. Please proceed.’” ”

-—former Microsoft CTO Nathan Myhrvold

Wilson S. Leach
Managing Director
wleach@ainonline.com

John F. McCarthy, Jr.
Executive Vice President
jmccarthy@ainonline.com

Anthony T. Romano
Publisher - North America: East/International
aromano@ainonline.com

Melissa Murphy
Advertising Sales - North America: Midwest
830) 608-9888
mmurphy@ainonline.com

Nancy O'Brien
Advertising Sales - North America: West
(530) 241-3534
nobrien@ainonline.com

Victoria Tod
Advertising Sales - North America: Great Lakes/UK
vtod@ainonline.com

Daniel Solnica
Advertising Sales - International: Paris
+33-1-42-46-95-71
dsolnica@ainonline.com

Philip Scarano
Advertising Sales - North America:Southeast
pscarano@ainonline.com

Tom Hurley
Production/Manufacturing Manager
thurley@ainonline.com

Susan Amisson
Sales/Production Administrator
samisson@ainonline.com

Jeff Hartford
Audience Development Manager
jhartford@ainonline.com

Patty Hayes
Advertising/Sales Secretarial Staff
phayes@ainonline.com

Cindy Nesline
Advertising/Sales Secretarial Staff
cnesline@ainonline.com