Calendar

Saturday, June 13, 2015 to Saturday, November 7, 2015
Waterfire Providence
Providence, Rhode Island

Waterfire by American artist Barnaby Evans, consists of 100 bonfires installed on the three rivers of downtown Providence, Rhode Island. It symbolizes, among other things, the importance of a unified community. Since the first installation in 1994, the artwork has led to an annual cultural and social event where hundreds of spectators walk along the riverfront and can enjoy boat rides, dinner and art. Waterfire lightings occur throughout the year but are particularly extraordinary during the summer months. 

Saturday, July 18, 2015 to Saturday, August 22, 2015
2015 Bridgehampton Polo Challenge
Bridgehampton, New York

The 17th season kicks off. Saturdays at 4 p.m.

Monday, August 10, 2015 to Sunday, August 16, 2015
PGA Championship
Kohler, Wisconsin
Tuesday, August 11, 2015 to Thursday, August 13, 2015
LABACE
São Paulo, Brazil
Sunday, August 16, 2015
Pebble Beach Concours
Pebble Beach, Calif.

Judges rate automobiles and motorcycles for historical accuracy, techncial merit and style. 

Sunday, August 23, 2015 to Sunday, September 6, 2015
East Coast Open
Greenwich, Conn.

Enjoy gourmet food and a beverage (or two) while watching some of the best polo players in the world compete. 

Sunday, August 23, 2015 to Sunday, August 30, 2015
The Hampton Classic
Bridgehampton, New York

This prestigious horse show offers onsite luxury shopping, activities for kids and more.

Sunday, August 30, 2015 to Monday, September 7, 2015
Burning Man
Black Rock Desert, Nevada

 A weeklong art festival of self-expression.

Monday, August 31, 2015 to Sunday, September 13, 2015
U.S. Open Tennis Tournament
Flushing Meadows, Queens, N.Y.

Corporate hospitality options are still availalble to see the best in tennis compete on hard courts. 

Friday, September 4, 2015 to Monday, September 7, 2015
Telluride Film Festival
Telluride, Colo.

Check out new films that may go out to win Oscars. 

Pages

 

Quote/Unquote

““When I made the film The Invention of Lying, they gave me a private jet for getting back and forth between New York and London. I thought, ‘I will never use it’ but I ended up using it every weekend. You turn up, right, and the airport is completely empty. I mean, there’s just someone at the desk and then the pilot, who says, ‘Are you ready to go?’ and you say, ‘Don’t you want to see my passport?’ and he goes, ‘Oh yeah, I suppose I’d better.’” ”

-—actor and comedian Ricky Gervais