Jeff Burger

Jeff Burger
Editor, Business Jet Traveler

Jeff Burger joined Business Jet Traveler in March 2004, a few months after its launch. Besides editing the magazine, he has written many of its Inside Fractionals columns and has conducted its interviews with such luminaries as Sir Richard Branson, James Carville, Suze Orman, Donald Trump, Daymond John, Cliff Robertson and F. Lee Bailey. In 2008, Burger helped to oversee BJT’s redesign and its introduction of an annual Buyers’ Guide issue; he also conceived 2010’s special issue on The Bizav Advantage and the annual Readers' Choice Polls and Book of Lists features. 

During his years with the magazine, it has earned nearly two dozen editorial awards. Burger's own articles for BJT have been winners in the prestigious annual editorial competitions sponsored by the American Society of Business Publication Editors and Folio: magazine. In 2011, he received the Aviation Journalism Award from the National Air Transportation Association as well as the Gold Wing Award for Reporting Excellence from the National Business Aviation Association. The same year and again in 2013, BJT was named one of the best business magazines in the U.S. by the American Society of Business Publication Editors.

Before coming to BJT, Burger spent 14 years at Medical Economics, the nation’s leading business magazine for doctors, where he served on the editorial board; directed staff recruiting; oversaw a $2 million annual budget; and was financial editor, news editor and director of special projects. He has been editor of several publications, including Phoenix Magazine in Arizona, and has been a consulting editor at Time Inc. He has contributed to more than 75 magazines, newspapers and books, among them the Los Angeles Times, Barron’s, Reader’s Digest, GQ and Family Circle. Chicago Review Press published his books, Springsteen on Springsteen: Interviews, Speeches, and Encounters and Leonard Cohen on Leonard Cohen: Interviews and Encounters.

Burger, a summa cum laude graduate of the State University of New York at Albany, lives in Ridgewood, N.J. His wife, Madeleine Beresford, is a preschool director and puppeteer. The couple have a son, Andre, and a daughter, Myriam. Burger's after-hours passions include music, food, travel, technology and movies.

 

Quote/Unquote

“"I've got a list of corporations that have gotten out of their airplanes [because of criticism from politicians]. It is the stupidest thing I've ever seen. When you look at the time and cost savings; it does not make sense not to fly [privately]. You can't let public perception interfere with your business decision to fly. It either is a good business decision or it isn't."”

-business aviation entrepreneur Nick Popovich

Wilson S. Leach
Managing Director
wleach@ainonline.com

John F. McCarthy, Jr.
Executive Vice President
jmccarthy@ainonline.com

Anthony T. Romano
Publisher - North America: East/International
aromano@ainonline.com

Melissa Murphy
Advertising Sales - North America: Midwest
830) 608-9888
mmurphy@ainonline.com

Nancy O'Brien
Advertising Sales - North America: West
(530) 241-3534
nobrien@ainonline.com

Victoria Tod
Advertising Sales - North America: Great Lakes/UK
vtod@ainonline.com

Daniel Solnica
Advertising Sales - International: Paris
+33-1-42-46-95-71
dsolnica@ainonline.com

Philip Scarano
Advertising Sales - North America:Southeast
pscarano@ainonline.com

Tom Hurley
Production/Manufacturing Manager
thurley@ainonline.com

Susan Amisson
Sales/Production Administrator
samisson@ainonline.com

Jeff Hartford
Audience Development Manager
jhartford@ainonline.com

Patty Hayes
Advertising/Sales Secretarial Staff
phayes@ainonline.com

Cindy Nesline
Advertising/Sales Secretarial Staff
cnesline@ainonline.com