Aerospace Media Awards
James Wynbrandt, Jerry Siebenmark, Colleen Mondor, and Charles Alcock of AIN Media Group won Aerospace Media Awards trophies. (Photo: David McIntosh)

BJT Contributors Win Big During Paris Air Show

Our late colleague Jerry Siebenmark was also recognized with a lifetime achievement award.

Contributors to BJT and other publications of AIN Media Group won four trophies at the Aerospace Media Awards (AMA), which were presented at the L'Aero-Club de France in Paris on June 18. A posthumous lifetime achievement award went to AIN senior editor Jerry Siebenmark, who also wrote for BJT.

“All of us at AIN are so proud of our team members’ Aerospace Media awards and appreciate the industry’s continued strong support for aviation journalism,” said editor-in-chief Matt Thurber, himself a four-time past AMA winner. “The lifetime achievement award for our late colleague Jerry Siebenmark was especially meaningful.”

Freelance journalist Colleen Mondor won best business aviation submission for “SIC Logging Is Focus of FAA Investigation into Boutique Air,” which discusses the role of second-in-command pilots flying single-pilot airplanes in charter operations.

 James Wynbrandt, a longtime BJT columnist, came out on top in the passenger and crew well-being category for a piece entitled “Mental Wellness Gets Post-Covid Safety Focus.”

Thurber accepted the award for Siebenmark as well as the ones for Mondor and Wynbrandt, who did not make the trip to Paris.

In recognition of his tireless work on the future of flight technology, UK-based senior editor Charles Alcock, a BJT contributor, won for “Advanced Air Mobility Pioneers Embark on Another Decisive Year.”