New COVID Rules Ban Some Travelers

Non-U.S. citizens who have been in the U.K., Ireland, the E.U.’s Schengen Area, Brazil, and South America will be barred from entering the United States.

A travel ban issued by the Biden Administration barring entry for non-U.S. travelers who have been in the U.K., Ireland, the E.U.’s Schengen Area, Brazil, China, or Iran within 14 days of their intended arrival was instituted this week in an attempt to limit the spread of more virulent strains of the COVID-19 virus. A similar ban will be imposed on South Africa–situated travelers starting January 30. According to the International Business Aviation Council (IBAC) crew travel in support of operations remains exempt, but the organization recommends coordinating with airlines for the movement of crews around the globe.

An executive order signed by President Biden last week echoes the latest U.S. CDC guidelines, requiring all air passengers to produce proof of a recent negative COVID-19 test prior to entry to the U.S. The National Air Transport Association reports that the White House confirmed that COVID testing waivers would not be granted for countries with limited testing capacity and that previously submitted testing waivers would not be accepted.

Private aircraft operators transporting people to the U.S. who have or are suspected of having COVID-19 or who were in close contact with an infected person must notify the CDC in advance of arrival, and preferably no less than 24 hours before the flight, according to the National Business Aviation Association.